Resources

Here’s a comprehensive guide to preservation, development and Charlestown’s community resources.

COMMUNITY RESOURCES

 Check back soon for additional information about preservation, development and community resources.

 

Historic and Preservation Resources Most Relevant to Charlestown
* The Boston Preservation Alliance and the Boston Landmarks Commission are the city’s major preservation organizations. We recommend the Preservation Alliance’s resource list as a way to find out more about Boston’s historic and preservation organizations.
Boston Organizations
Boston Preservation Alliance* www.bostonpreservation.org
Historic Boston Inc. www.historicboston.org
The Bostonian Society
www.bostonhistory.org
The Freedom Trail Foundation www.thefreedomtrail.org/
USS Constitution/Old Ironsides www.history.navy.mil/ussconstitution
Massachusetts/New England Organizations
Community Preservation Coalition www.communitypreservation.org
Historic New England www.historicnewengland.org
Massachusetts Historical Society www.masshist.org
New England Historic Genealogical Society www.newenglandancestors.org
Preservation Massachusetts www.preservationmass.org
National Organizations
National Trust for Historic Preservation www.preservationnation.org
Partners for Sacred Places www.sacredplaces.org
Preservation Action www.preservationaction.org
Society of Architectural Historians www.sah.org
The Association for Gravestone Studies www.gravestonestudies.org
The Cultural Landscape Foundation www.tclf.org
Vernacular Architecture Forum www.vernaculararchitectureforum.org/
USS Constitution Museum ussconstitutionmuseum.org
Government Resources
City of Boston
Boston Landmarks Commission* www.cityofboston.gov/landmarks
Boston Redevelopment Authority www.bostonredevelopmentauthority.org
City of Boston Archives www.cityofboston.gov/archivesandrecords
City of Boston Inspectional Service Department www.cityofboston.gov/isd
City of Boston Parks Department www.cityofboston.gov/parks
Historic Burying Grounds Initiative www.cityofboston.gov/parks/hbgi
Boston Public Library www.bpl.org
Leventhal Map Center/Boston Public Library maps.bpl.org/view_collection
Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Massachusetts Department of Environmental Management www.mass.gov/eea/agencies/massdep
Massachusetts Historical Commisssion www.sec.state.ma.us/mhc
State Library of Massachusetts www.mass.gov/anf/research-and-tech/oversight-agencies/lib/
US Government
Boston National Historical Park www.nps.gov/bost/index.htm
National Park Service www.nps.gov
Bunker Hill Monument www.nps.gov/bost/historyculture/bhm.htm
Bunker Hill Museum www.nps.gov/bost/historyculture/bhmuseum.htm
Charlestown Navy Yard www.nps.gov/bost/historyculture/cny.htm
Charlestown Resources
Historic and Preservation Organizations
Charlestown Historical Society www.charlestownhistoricalsociety.org
Charlestown Preservation Society www.charlestownpreservation.org
Friends of the Charlestown Navy Yard www.friendscny.org
Friends of City Square Park to be added
Friends of Doherty Park to be added
Friends of the John Harvard Mall to be added
Friends of the Training Field to be added
Civic and Community Organizations
Charlestown Chamber of Commerce www.charlestownchamber.com
Charlestown Mothers Association www.charlestownmothersassociation.com
Charlestown Neighborhood Council www.charlestownneighborhoodcouncil.com
Charlestown Online www.charlestownonline.net
Charlestown Patch www.charlestown.patch.com
Charlestown Patriot-Bridge www.charlestownbridge.com

 


 

Dohertypark_2